back to school · Lifestyle · Marriage · mental health · Personal · Travel · Uncategorized

2020 a year in review

Hey friends! Wow what a year it has been. For most they would say it was the worst year of their lives, but for me I want to say it’s been a better year then some. This year has brought some unexpected blessings. So let’s get into it.

The first few months of this year were pretty uneventful but then March hit, who would have guessed that when “S” went out on spring break that she wouldn’t go back to school. March, April, and most of May were probably the worst for me mentally. The what I call doom and gloom of those months were horrible. I wasn’t sleeping, I was desperately trying to find anything to help me cope with what was going on around me. I went and got a weighted blanket, melatonin, alcohol you name it.

The highlight to March before things changed, great grandma turned 80!
Let the virtual learning begin
Parking lot trivia with her god mom

When June, July and August finally came and things got so much better. Friendships grew, made new friends, and started to dig out of debt. The summer was full of cautious fun with friends and family. We went to Pittsburgh, and got a cabin in the woods for the weekend. It was almost like COVID wasn’t a thing….almost.

“S” turned 9!
We went to Topgolf for the first time!
Hello Pittsburgh!

But summer doesn’t last and September came in and you just knew it was fall. “S” should have stated her 4th great year in school but instead she started online(that’s been a fun obstacle….NOT).

2020’s version of back to school
At least there was football

October came and so did my 31st birthday😩. How did that happened? How did I miss and entire year of my 30’s? Oh yeah basically a global pandemic took it. Patio season came to an end and essentially so did weekly dinners with my best friend. The stress, and panic attacks started to return, but you’ll figure out why soon.

My sisters senior night for marching band
Beetlejuice beetlejuice beetlejuice

It’s finally November….finally….November. This is the month that I’ve been waiting on and planning for since JUNE! Why? Oh you know because in June we booked and paid for, my best friend was turning 30 and pandemic be damned we were going to celebrate the best way we knew in VEGAS! Let me tell you the last few months leading up to vacation were some of the most stressful. The whole are we going to be able to go(I literally read and reread our trip insurance policy so many times.) I’d say the trip was in question until like two days before when the Nevada governor spoke on their “pause” it wasn’t great news but we were still able to go. Sure we had to make reservations for literally any place we wanted to eat but we made it work.

Our hotel in Vegas

Now here we are in December. Christmas is a week away and I’m having the hardest time getting into the Christmas spirit. But I can say my shopping is 100% done(thank god)

Getting out tree
She got the decorate the tree this year
Our tree!

So here’s to you 2020 thank you for teaching me what really matters. I hope 2021 is so much better and that things can get back to some sort of “normal”

Merry Christmas and Happy Holidays friends!

Leave a comment